Houston, TX – Consumer Energy Alliance welcomes Brett A. Vassey, President & CEO of the Virginia Manufacturers Association, to its board of directors.

“Long joined at the hip, energy and manufacturing are in a better position than ever to showcase America’s economic potential,” said John Heimlich, Chairman of CEA Board of Directors.  “Brett’s experience working with Virginia manufacturers brings a critical perspective to the CEA board, and we look forward to tapping his skills to advance the interests of energy consumers.”

“CEA has long benefited from Brett’s support and counsel,” said David Holt, CEA President.  “Brett understands well how a balanced energy policy helps American consumers and generates many other benefits for the economy. Looking ahead, we will tap his knowledge and experience overseeing the Virginia Manufacturers Association to guide CEA as it continues to grow its membership and reach across the United States.”

“CEA is leading a broad coalition ready to utilize North American energy to boost the the economy, create jobs, and supply American consumers with affordable energy,” said Brett Vassey. “I look forward to helping lead the organization and ensuring CEA continues to deliver a quality service to its members.”

Mr. Vassey brings a depth of experience working within the manufacturing industry, as well as policy development in the Southeast.

Virginia Manufacturers Association represents the Commonwealth’s 6,000 manufacturers, which employ over 220,000 individuals, that contribute over $34 billion to the gross state product, and account for over 80% of the state’s exports to the global economy.

Vassey joins Consumer Energy Alliance board members: John Heimlich, Chairman, Vice President and Chief Economist for Airlines for America; Jennifer Diggins, Vice Chairwoman, Director of Public Affairs for the Nucor Corporation; Mark Pulliam, Treasurer, Solution Partner with Sabre Airline Solutions; Dave Harbour, APR, Commissioner Emeritus, National Association of Regulatory Commissioners, Publisher, Northern Gas Pipelines; Troy Bredenkamp, General Manager, Nebraska Rural Electric Association; and Wayne Zemke, Caterpillar, Incorporated.